Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.

Minutes of the December 11th, 2021 Annual Board of Directors Meeting

Date: December 11th, 2021 **Location:** MCRHS Office

Roll Call:

Directors:

- R. Anderson, Treasurer
- K. Bauman, Vice President
- R. Colby
- R. Duresa
- R. Miller
- C. O'Brien, Secretary
- C. Salmonson
- A. Spinelli
- R. Wagner

Other Officers:

J. Bloohm, President

Other Guests:

J. Lentz

12:15 PM: Meeting is called to order by President Bloohm

The next regular meeting will be held on March 26th, 2022 at 12PM at the MCRHS Office Building.

Directors C. O'Brien and R. Wagner were re-elected for an additional term and were seated as of December 4th, 2021. Their new term expires in 2024.

- **12:15 PM**: R. Anderson moves and C. O'Brien seconds to appoint R. Duresa as a Director for a term expiring in 2024. Motion passed unanimously with R. Duresa abstaining.
- **12:15 PM:** R. Miller moves and R. Duresa seconds to approve the minutes of the September 25th, 2021 regular meeting as presented. Motion passed unanimously.
- **12:16 PM:** R. Miller moves and R. Duresa seconds to approve the minutes of the October 11th, 2021 special meeting as presented. Motion passed unanimously.
- **12:16 PM:** R. Wagner moves and R. Colby seconds to approve the minutes of the October 28th special meeting as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Election of Officers:

- Treasurer: R. Duresa nominates and A. Spinelli seconds the nomination for R. Anderson as Treasurer of MCRHS. C. O'Brien moves and R. Duresa seconds to close the nominations and unanimously elect R. Anderson as Treasurer. Motion passed with R. Anderson abstaining.
- Secretary: R. Wagner nominates and K. Bauman seconds the nomination for C. O'Brien as Secretary of MCRHS. R. Duresa moves and K. Bauman seconds to close the nominations and unanimously elect C. O'Brien as Secretary. Motion passed with C. O'Brien abstaining.
- Vice President: R. Wagner nominates and R. Colby seconds the nomination for A. Spinelli as Vice President of MCRHS. R. Duresa nominates and R. Miller seconds the nomination for K. Bauman as Vice President of MCRHS.
- **12:20 PM:** R. Duresa moves and C. Salmonson seconds to make the vote for Vice President an open vote. Motion passed unanimously.

5 votes were cast for A. Spinelli with A. Spinelli abstaining. 2 votes were cast for K. Bauman with K. Bauman abstaining.

President Bloohm asks Vice President Spinelli to assume the chair of the meeting.

President: R. Miller nominates and R. Duresa seconds the nomination for J. Bloohm as President of MCRHS. C. O'Brien moves and R. Duresa seconds to close the nominations and unanimously elect J. Bloohm as President. Motion passed unanimously.

Vice President Spinelli returns the chair of the meeting to President Bloohm.

- **12:25 PM:** C. O'Brien moves and R. Duresa seconds to thank K. Bauman for his service as Vice-President. Motion passed unanimously with K. Bauman abstaining.
- **12:26 PM:** C. O'Brien moves and K. Bauman seconds to set the Registered Office as E8948 Museum Road, North Freedom, WI, and to set the Registered Agent as Jeffery B. Bloohm and the official depository as Community First Bank, Baraboo, WI. Motion passed unanimously.

Reports:

The President/Manager's report and the Elections Committee report were presented.

12:29 PM: R. Duresa moves and C. O'Brien seconds to approve the President/Manager's report and Elections Committee report as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

12:29 PM: K. Bauman moves and R. Duresa seconds to destroy the ballots from the election. Motion passed unanimously.

The Financial report was presented.

New Business:

- **12:40 PM:** R. Anderson moves and C. O'Brien seconds to buy the Jeff Lentz property for the sum of \$30,000. Motion passed unanimously.
- **12:48 PM**: R. Duresa moves and A. Spinelli seconds to amend the motion to include closing fees. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:30 PM:** R. Wagner moves and A. Spinelli seconds to be open in 2022 from Tuesday through Sunday with a paid crew from Tuesday through Saturday and a volunteer crew on Sunday with the option that a volunteer can override a paid crew member on Saturday. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:37 PM:** R. Miller moves and R. Anderson seconds to approve the 2021-22 budget. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:42 PM:** K. Bauman moves and R. Colby seconds to designate the \$3,748.85 from the MCRR FUND/DNP Select Fund interest to the Lackawanna coach rebuild program. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:44 PM:** R. Anderson moves and R. Duresa seconds to send the letter as corrected for the Porter grant. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:48 PM:** R. Duresa moves and K. Bauman seconds to reject the bylaw changes. Motion passed unanimously.
- 1:49 PM: C. O'Brien moves and K. Bauman seconds to approve the committee appointments of:

Private Equipment Oversight Committee – J. Busse (Ch), K. Bauman, E. Ripp, R. Wagner, J. Bloohm Collections Committee – W. Buhrmaster (Ch), S. Mathias, T. Blewett, R. Thiele, R. Dipping Election Committee – K. Bauman (Ch), M. Deets, C. O'Brien Management Committee – J. Bloohm (Ch), R. Wagner, R. Anderson Rolling Stock Disposal Committee – J. Bloohm (Ch), R. Wagner, R. Anderson, A. Spinelli, W. Buhrmaster

Motion passed unanimously.

1:50 PM: K. Bauman moves and R. Duresa seconds to approve Superintendent, General Foreman, and Department Head appointments of:

Collections Manager – R. Thiele

Restorations Manager - W. Buhrmaster

Museum Store Administrator – J. Haertlein

General Foreman of Diesels – J. Bloohm

General Foreman of Steam Power – vacant

General Foreman of Rolling Stock – R. Colby

Superintendent of Buildings and Ground – A. Spinelli

Superintendent of Engineering – N. Vertein

Roadmaster – D. Bierman

Superintendent of Operations – K. Bauman

Director of Visitor Services – vacant

Director of Member Services – Office Staff

Superintendent of Dining Services – vacant

Educator – R. Colby

Gazette and Steamer Editor – J. Lentz

Webmaster – P. Weeden

Motion passed unanimously.

1:51 PM: R. Duresa moves and R. Anderson seconds to authorize Jeff Huttenburg to destroy documents that are beyond the required retention time. Motion passed unanimously.

1:51 PM: R. Miller moves and R. Duresa seconds to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

Colin O'Brien

Secretary

Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.