Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.

Minutes of the December 14th, 2019 Annual Board of Directors Meeting

Date: December 14th, 2019 **Location:** MCHRS Office Building

Roll Call:

Directors:

- R. Anderson, Treasurer
- K. Bauman, Vice President (takes his position at 12:07 PM)
- R. Colby (takes his seat at 12:05 PM)
- R. Duresa by phone
- R. Miller
- C. O'Brien, Secretary (takes his position at 12:07 PM)
- A. Spinell
- R. Wagner

Other Officers:

J. Bloohm, President

Other Guests:

- E. Ripp
- N. Vertein

12:02 PM: Meeting is called to order by President Bloohm.

The next regular meeting will be held on March 28th, 2020 at 12:00 PM in the MCRHS Office Building.

Directors R. Anderson and K. Bauman were re-elected for an additional term and were seated as of November 2nd, 2019. Their new term expires in 2022.

12:04 PM: K. Bauman moves and R. Duresa seconds to thank outgoing director Jeff Huttenburg for his service. Motion passed unanimously.

12:05 PM: K. Bauman moves and R. Anderson seconds to appoint Richard Colby as a Director for a term expiring in 2022. Motion passed unanimously.

12:06 PM: R. Duresa moves and A. Spinelli seconds to approve the minutes of the September 28th, 2019 Board meeting as corrected. Motion passed unanimously.

Election of Officers:

Vice President: A. Spinelli nominates and R. Miller seconds the nomination for K. Bauman as Vice President of MCRHS. R. Duresa moves and R. Anderson seconds to close the nominations and unanimously elect K. Bauman as Vice President. Motion passed with K. Bauman abstaining.

Secretary: R. Duresa nominates and K. Bauman seconds the nomination for C. O'Brien as Secretary of MCRHS. R. Duresa moves and R. Wagner seconds to close the nominations and unanimously elect C. O'Brien as Secretary. Motion passed with C. O'Brien abstaining.

Treasurer: R. Duresa nominates and A. Spinelli seconds the nomination for R. Anderson as Treasurer of MCRHS.

C. O'Brien moves and K. Bauman seconds to close the nominations and unanimously elect R.

Anderson as Treasurer. Motion passed unanimously.

President Bloohm asks Vice President Bauman to assume the chair of the meeting.

President: A. Spinelli nominates and R. Duresa seconds the nomination for J. Bloohm as President of MCRHS. R. Anderson moves and R. Duresa seconds to close the nominations and unanimously elect J. Bloohm as President. Motion passed unanimously.

Vice President Bauman returns the chair of the meeting to President Bloohm.

12:11 PM: K. Bauman moves and R. Duresa seconds to thank outgoing Vice President Dave Schumacher for his service. Motion passed unanimously.

12:12 PM: R. Miller moves and K. Bauman seconds to set the Registered Office as E8948 Museum Road, North Freedom, WI, and to set the Registered Agent as Jeffery B. Bloohm and the official depository as Community First Bank, Baraboo, WI. Motion passed unanimously.

Reports:

The Manager's report was presented by J. Bloohm.

12:20 PM: R. Duresa moves and K. Bauman seconds to accept the report. Motion passed unanimously.

The Elections Committee report was presented by K. Bauman.

12:27 PM: R. Duresa moves and A. Spinelli seconds to accept the report and destroy the ballots from the election. Motion passed unanimously.

Car Storage report.

12:50 PM: R. Wagner moves and K. Bauman seconds to accept the report and ask Jeff Huttenburg to continue securing the leases. Motion passed unanimously.

Unfinished Business:

By consensus of the Board, the next planning meeting will be on March 28th, 2020 at 9:00 AM in the MCRHS Office building.

- **12:52 PM:** K. Bauman moves and R. Duresa seconds to reject the offer from David Wantz to accept the donation and remove the shaper from the property.
- 12:58 PM: Motion withdrawn by makers.
- **12:58 PM:** K. Bauman moves and R. Anderson seconds to accept donation from David Wantz with no strings attached. Motion passed unanimously.

New Business:

- **1:00 PM:** R. Miller moves and K. Bauman seconds to accept the 2019/2020 budget as presented. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:07 PM:** R. Wagner moves and R. Duresa seconds to have Jeff Huttenburg destroy financial records that are beyond their required retention period. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:22 PM:** R. Miller moves and K. Bauman seconds to table discussion to designate \$4,000.00 from the DNP Select cash fund to the Restoration Department. Motion passed unanimously.

1:26 PM: R. Duresa moves and R. Anderson seconds to reject Cons Trucking offer of \$1,000.00 for the track damage claim and resubmit to them and their insurance for the full \$4,000.00 amount. Motion passed unanimously.

1:29 PM: C. O'Brien moves and R. Anderson seconds to authorize a committee to build a new storage building on MCRHS property. Motion passed unanimously.

1:32 PM: K. Bauman moves and R. Miller seconds to approve the committee appointments of:

Private Equipment Oversight Committee – J. Busse (Ch), K. Bauman, E. Ripp, R. Wagner, J. Bloohm Collections Committee – W. Buhrmaster (Ch), S. Mathias, T. Blewett, R. Thiele, R. Dipping Election Committee – K. Bauman (Ch), M. Deets, C. O'Brien Management Committee – J. Bloohm (Ch), R. Wagner, R. Anderson Steam Readiness Committee – J. Bloohm (Ch), K. Bauman, R. Colby, J. Busse, E. Ripp Rolling Stock Disposal Committee – J. Bloohm (Ch), R. Wagner, R. Anderson, A. Spinelli, W. Buhrmaster Storage Building Committee – R. Wagner (Ch), J. Bloohm, J. Huttenburg, W. Buhrmaster, J. Busse

Motion passed unanimously.

1:37 PM: R. Miller moves and K. Bauman seconds to approve Superintendent, General Foreman, and Department Head appointments of:

Collections Manager – R. Thiele
Restorations Manager – W. Buhrmaster
Museum Store Administrator – J. Haertlein
General Foreman of Diesels – J. Bloohm
General Foreman of Steam Power – S E Pahl, Sr.
General Foreman of Rolling Stock – R. Colby
Roadmaster – D. Bierman
Superintendent of Operations – K. Bauman
Director of Visitor Services – N. Kaney
Director of Member Services – Office Staff
Superintendent of Dining Services – N. Kaney
Educator – R. Colby
Gazette and Steamer Editor – J. Lentz
Webmaster – P. Weeden
Superintendent of Buildings and Grounds – Vacant

Motion passed unanimously.

1:38 PM: K. Bauman moves and R. Duresa seconds to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

Colin O'Brien Secretary Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.