Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.

Minutes of the December 9th, 2023 Annual Board of Directors Meeting

Date: December 9th, 2023 **Location:** MCRHS Office

Roll Call:

Directors:

- R. Anderson, Treasurer
- D. Bierman
- G. Bjorge
- A. Clussman takes his seat at 12:05 PM
- R. Colby
- J. Huttenburg, Vice President
- C. O'Brien, Secretary
- C. Salmonson
- R. Wagner

Other Officers:

A. Spinelli, President

Other Guests:

- J. Lentz
- R. Potthast
- N. Vertein
- D. Wantz

12:01 PM: Meeting is called to order by President Spinelli.

The next regular meeting will be held on March 16th, 2024 at 12:01 PM.

The next planning meeting will be at the MCRHS office on March 16th, 2024 at 10:00 AM.

Directors D. Bierman and C. Salmonson were elected and were seated as of November 4th, 2023. Their new term expires in 2026.

- **12:05 PM**: G. Bjorge moves and R. Colby seconds to appoint Adam Clussman to the Board of Directors for a term expiring in 2026. Motion passed unanimously.
- **12:06 PM:** R. Wagner moves and D. Bierman seconds to approve the minutes of the September 16th, 2023 Board meeting as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

Election of Officers:

Vice President: G. Bjorge nominates and R. Anderson seconds the nomination for J. Huttenburg as Vice President of MCRHS. C. O'Brien moves and G. Bjorge seconds to close the nominations and elect J. Huttenburg as Vice President. Motion passed with J. Huttenburg abstaining.

President Spinelli turns the meeting over to Vice President Huttenburg.

President: R. Anderson nominates and D. Bierman seconds the nomination for A. Spinelli as President of MCRHS. C. O'Brien moves and G. Bjorge seconds to close the nominations and elect A. Spinelli as President. Motion passed with A. Spinelli abstaining.

Vice President Huttenburg returns the meeting to President Spinelli.

Treasurer: R. Wagner nominates and D. Bierman seconds the nomination for R. Anderson as Treasurer of MCRHS. R. Wagner moves and D. Bierman seconds to close the nominations and elect R. Anderson as Treasurer. Motion passed with R. Anderson abstaining.

Secretary: J. Huttenburg nominates and R. Anderson seconds the nomination for C. O'Brien as Secretary of MCRHS. J. Huttenburg moves and R. Anderson seconds to close the nominations and elect C. O'Brien as Secretary. Motion passed with C. O'Brien abstaining.

12:11 PM: The Board would like to recognize and thank Jeffrey Bloohm for his service to the museum.

12:12 PM: G. Bjorge moves and R. Anderson seconds to set the Registered Office as E8948 Museum Road, North Freedom, WI, and to set the Registered Agent as Jeffrey Huttenburg and the official depository as Community First Bank, Baraboo, WI. Motion passed unanimously.

Reports:

The President/Manager's report was presented.

The Financial report was presented.

The Endowment Committee report was presented.

The Elections Committee report was presented.

New Business:

12:56 PM: J. Huttenburg moves and G. Bjorge seconds to distribute the endowment funds in the amounts of \$108,068.42 from the Board Endowed Account (Ford Porter), \$3,528.46 from the Donor Endowed Account (MC Foundation) and \$15,721.65 from the Adams Diversified Equity

Fund to Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc. Motion passed unanimously.

- **12:57 PM:** J. Huttenburg moves and D. Bierman seconds that the funds received from the Board Endowed Account, the Donor Endowed Account and the Adams Diversified Equity Fund be transferred back to Stifel to be placed in the corporate cash flow account. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:00 PM:** C. O'Brien moves and R. Colby seconds to destroy the ballots from the election. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:12 PM:** R. Anderson moves and G. Bjorge seconds to cover the travel and registration costs for Mid-Continent's delegates (Andy Spinelli, Jeff Lentz and Ed Ripp) at the Railroad Passenger Car Alliance conference in Cordele, GA on January 12-15, 2024. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:22 PM:** J. Huttenburg moves and R. Anderson seconds to approve the 2023-24 budget proposal. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:23 PM:** G. Bjorge moves and R. Wagner seconds to operate the same 6-day schedule in 2024. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:24 PM:** J. Huttenburg moves and D. Bierman seconds to appoint the President's committee, appointments for 2024 of:

General Manager/Management Committee - A. Spinelli (ch), Robert Anderson, Jeff Huttenburg

Private Equipment Oversight Committee - James Busse (ch), Gary Bjorge, Edward Ripp, Jay Slinde

Collections Committee - William Buhrmaster (ch), Pete Becker, Tom Blewett, Richard Dipping, Casey Thiele, Rick Thiele

Election Committee - Chris Salmonson (ch), Pete Deets, Colin O'Brien

Rolling Stock Disposal Committee - Andy Spinelli (ch), Robert Anderson, William Buhrmaster

Endowment Committee - Robert Anderson (ch), Jeff Huttenburg, Colin O'Brien, Andy Spinelli

Ground Equipment Committee - Gary Bjorge (ch), Perry Anderson, Jim Busse, Larry Stanley

Steam/Diesel Training Committee - Colin O'Brien (ch), Pete Deets, Robert Dischler, Ed Ripp, Chris Salmonson, Andy Spinelli

- **1:29 PM:** G. Bjorge moves and J. Huttenburg seconds to accept the donation of the Lake Superior & Ishpeming boxcar #2026 from Richard Dipping with no conditions. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:33 PM:** J. Huttenburg moves and G. Bjorge seconds to approve the Superintendent, General Foreman, and Department Head appointments for 2024 of:

Collections Manager – Rick Thiele Restorations Manager – William Buhrmaster Museum Store Administrator – Jeffrey Haertlein General Foreman of Diesels - Andy Spinelli

General Foreman of Steam Power – Ed Ripp

General Foreman of Rolling Stock - Richard Colby

Training Officer of Trainmen/Conductors - Colin O'Brien

Superintendent of Operations – Jeffrey Lentz

Dispatcher - Rick Thiele

Superintendent of Buildings and Ground – Andy Spinelli

Superintendent of Engineering – Nick Vertein

Roadmaster – Dave Bierman

Director of Visitor Services – vacant

Member Services – Office Staff

Superintendent of Dining Services – vacant

Educator – Richard Colby

Gazette and Mid-Continent News – Jeffrey Lentz

Webmaster – Pat Weeden

Montana Western #31 Restorations Manager - Rusty Schramm

Motion passed unanimously.

1:34 PM: C. O'Brien moves and R. Anderson seconds to authorize Jeff Huttenburg to destroy documents that are beyond the required retention time. Motion passed unanimously.

1:34 PM: G. Bjorge moves and R. Wagner seconds to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

Colin O'Brien

Secretary

Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.