Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.

Minutes of the December 14th Annual Board of Directors Meeting

Date: December 14, 2013

Location: Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society Office Building

Roll Call:

Directors:

- R. Anderson, Treasurer
- J. Bloohm, President
- S. Brist
- K. Burbach -- Absent
- A. Doering
- R. Duresa -- Absent
- P. Endres
- G. Lavrenz -- Absent
- C. O'Brien
- D. Schumacher, Vice President
- J. Sorrel
- K. Thomsen
- R. Wagner

Other Officers:

K. Bauman, Secretary

Guests:

N. Miller

Meeting called to order at 12:22 PM by President Bloohm. (Meeting start time delayed due to an unofficial discussion being held by the Board.)

The next Regular Board Meeting will be March 29, 2014 at 12 Noon at the Museum Office.

Directors Burbach, Lavrenz, Anderson and Sorrel were elected by the membership and were seated immediately upon their election.

Director Endres has declined being reappointed to his seat. However he is willing to attend through the March meeting unless a replacement is found beforehand.

- **12:23 PM** D. Schumacher moves and R. Wagner seconds to thank former Director Al Joyce for his service to the Board. Motion passed unanimously.
- **12:24 PM --** K. Thomsen moves and C. O'Brien seconds to approve agenda and allow the President to go out of order as needed to efficiently conduction the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.
- **12:25 PM** The minutes of the September 28, 2013 regular board of directors meeting stand approved as presented.
- **12:26 PM** The minutes of the November 16, 2013 special board of directors meeting stand approved as presented.

Election of Officers

President Bloohm turned the chairmanship of the meeting to Vice President Schumacher.

President: R. Anderson nominates Jeffrey Bloohm as President, K. Thomsen seconds the nomination. P. Endres moves and R. Anderson seconds to close nominations and elect J. Bloohm as President of Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc. Motion passed unanimously.

Vice President Schumacher return the chairmanship of the meeting to President Bloohm.

Vice President: S. Brist nominates Dave Schumacher as Vice President, A. Doering seconds the nomination. R. Anderson moves and K. Thomsen seconds to close the nominations and elect D. Schumacher Vice President of MCRHS. Motion passed unanimously.

Secretary: K. Thomsen nominates Kelly Bauman as Secretary, C. O'Brien seconds the nomination. C. O'Brien moves and D. Schumacher seconds to close the nominations and elect K. Bauman Secretary of MCRHS. Motion passed unanimously.

Treasurer: S. Brist nominates Robert Anderson as Treasurer, C. O'Brien seconds the nomination. D. Schumacher moves and K. Thomsen seconds to close the nominations and elect R. Anderson Treasurer of MCRHS. Motion passed unanimously.

12:40 PM – S. Brist moves and C. O'Brien seconds to list Jeffrey Bloohm as the registered agent with E8948 Museum Road, North Freedom WI as the registered office of MCRHS and to list Community First Bank, Baraboo, WI as the official depository. Motion passed unanimously.

Reports:

Don Meyer's report was presented.

The President's report was presented.

The board wishes to have Don Meyer explain the pros and cons of placing the Wisconsin Fish Commission, Badger #2 on the National Historical Register.

The board directs that Kelly Bauman is to pursue changes to the museums computer systems. Kelly Bauman has pledged to donate one Computer and Bob Anderson has pledged \$1,000 to the project as well.

The Financial report was presented.

We ended the year 3.7% ahead from last year, with a downturn in ridership.

We have \$44,210.91 in the general fund right now. But that amount plus any further income will need to last the next 5 to 6 months until the start of operations.

The Elections Committee report was presented.

The committee chair recognizes and thanks C. O'Brien and M. Deets for their service to the committee.

The Governance Committee report was presented.

The Buildings and Grounds report was presented.

Unfinished Business:

Continued discussions of strategic planning.

The Board will hold an additional closed planning session after the March board meeting to continue the work started at the November 16th meeting. That session will be held on April 26, 2014 starting at 10:00AM at Buttonwood Partners.

- **1:38 PM** R. Anderson move and K. Thomsen seconds to allow the board to approve and if necessary correct the draft meeting minutes via email.
 - 1:43 PM R. Anderson and K. Thomsen withdraw the motion of 1:38 PM
- **1:44 PM** K. Thomsen moves and P. Endres seconds to allow the Secretary to post draft meeting minutes to the membership. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:42 PM** R. Anderson moves and D. Schumacher seconds to approve the Governance Committee of Keith Thomsen, Jeffrey Bloohm, Roberta Wagner, Al Doering, and Colin O'Brien. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:45 PM** A. Doering moves and D. Schumacher seconds to approve the Funding Committee of Robert Anderson, Keith Thomsen, and Roberta Wagner.
- 1:48 PM A recess was declared.
- **1:53 PM** The Meeting was recalled to session by President Bloohm.

Membership Upgrades if any could not be acted on due to the computer system failure.

New Business

- **1:54 PM** R. Anderson moves and K. Thomsen seconds to approve Don Meyer's proposed contract titled MCRY-014. Motion passed unanimously.
- **2:03 PM** R. Wagner moves and R. Anderson seconds to accept the proposed 2013-2014 budget. Motion passed unanimously.
- **2:10 PM** A. Doering moves and R. Anderson seconds to leave the First Class tip money in the amount of \$1,214.00 undesignated in the General fund. Motion passed unanimously.
- **2:11 PM** C. O'Brien moves and D. Schumacher seconds to approve Jeffrey Lentz's proposed contract titled MCRY-JL-005. Motion passed unanimously.
- **2:14 PM** K. Thomsen moves and C. O'Brien seconds to leave the MCRR Foundation investment earnings in the fund for the time being. Motion passed unanimously.
- **2:19 PM** C. O'Brien moves and D. Schumacher seconds to approve the Flood Evacuation Plan. Motion passed unanimously.

2:40 PM – R. Anderson moves and R. Wagner seconds to designate the funds from the sale of the 1947 Dodge Inspection Car, once the payment is received, to the Engineering Department. Motion passed unanimously.

2:45 PM – J. Sorrel moves and A. Doering seconds to approve the following committees:

Private Equipment Oversight Committee of James Busse (ch), Kelly Bauman, Jeffrey Bloohm, Edward Ripp, and James Johnson.

Collections Committee of William Buhrmaster (ch), Stu Mathias, Ken Hojnacki, Rick Thiele, and Richard Dipping.

Management Committee of Jeffrey Bloohm, Roberta Wagner, and Robert Anderson.

Motion Passed Unanimously.

2:47 PM – R. Wagner moves and R. Anderson seconds to approve the following Vice President's appointments.

Superintendent of Operations – Kelly Bauman
Superintendent of Building and Grounds – Chuck Hamm
Collections Manager – Rick Thiele
Restorations Manager – William Buhrmaster
Museum Store Administrator – Jeffrey Haertlein
Director of Visitor Services – Nancy Miller
General Foreman of Diesels – Jeffrey Bloohm
General Foreman of Rolling Stock – Richard Colby
Roadmaster – David J. Bierman
Gazette and Steamer Editor – Jeffrey Lentz
Webmaster – Patrick Weeden
Educator – Stan Searing

Motion passed unanimously.

3:14 PM – R. Anderson moves and J. Sorrel seconds to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

Kelly R. Bauman Secretary

Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.

Approved by the Board at the March 29, 2014 Meeting