Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.

Minutes of the December 13th Annual Board of Directors Meeting

Date: December 13, 2014 **Location**: Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society Office Building

Roll Call:

Directors:

R. Anderson, Treasurer -- Absent J. Bloohm, President S. Brist K. Burbach -- Absent A. Doering R. Duresa J. Huttenburg G. Lavrenz -- Absent C. O'Brien D. Schumacher, Vice President J. Sorrel K. Thomsen -- Absent R. Wagner Other Officers: K. Bauman, Secretary

Guests:

R. Lichter (As of 1:30 PM)

Meeting called to order at 12:00 PM by President Bloohm.

The next Regular Board Meeting will be March 28, 2015 at 12 Noon at the Museum Office.

Glen Lavrenz, David Schumacher and Keith Thomsen were reelected as directors, by the membership, to three year terms expiring in 2017. They are seated immediately as per the bylaws in effect at the time of the election.

12:03 PM: D. Schumacher moves and R. Duresa seconds to appoint Al Doering, as a director, for a term expiring in 2017. The motion passed unanimously.

12:03 PM: D Duresa moves and R. Huttenburg seconds to approve the agenda and allow the president the option to go out of order as needed to efficiently conduct the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

12:07 PM: Minutes of the September, 27, 2014 Regular Meeting of the Board stand approved as presented.

Election of officers:

Treasurer:

S. Brist and C. O'Brien nominate R. Anderson for Treasurer of Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society Inc.

12:08 PM: S. Brist moves and C. O'Brien seconds to close the nominations and elect R. Anderson Treasurer. Motion passed unanimously.

Secretary:

S. Brist and A. Doering nominate K. Bauman for Secretary of Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society Inc.

12:09 PM: J. Huttenburg moves and R. Duresa seconds to close the nominations and elect K. Bauman Secretary. Motion passed unanimously.

Vice President:

R. Wagner and J. Huttenburg nominate D. Schumacher as Vice President of Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.

12:09 PM: J. Huttenburg moves and C. O'Brien seconds to close the nominations and elect D. Schumacher Vice President. Motion passed unanimously.

President Bloohm turns chairmanship of the meeting over to Vice President Schumacher.

President:

Al Doering and R. Duresa nominate J. Bloohm as President of Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.

12:10 PM: J. Huttenburg moves and R. Duresa seconds to close the nominations and elect J. Bloohm as President. Motion passed unanimously.

Vice President Schumacher returns chairmanship of the meeting to President Bloohm.

12:12 PM: S. Brist moves and D. Schumacher seconds to make the Registered Office E8948 Museum Road, North Freedom WI. The Registered Agent Jeffrey B. Bloohm, and the Official Depository Community First Bank, Baraboo, WI. Motion passed unanimously.

Reports:

President's report as presented

Financial reports as presented by J. Lentz.

As of December 12, 2014 the general fund contained \$70,806.27 cents.

A Lengthy discussion on marketing was held.

Election Committee report:

Out of a total of 266 voting members, 111 ballots were returned. One ballot was disqualified for the failure to follow instructions. Of the 110 valid returns the votes were cast as follows:

Restatement of the MCRHS Bylaws:

102 votes were cast, of those 61 were in favor, 40 were against and one ballot was blank. The restated bylaws went into effect at the adjournment of the November Member's Meeting.

Director Position One:

There were 63 votes for David Schumacher, 44 votes for Kevin Pickar, one vote for Steve Pahl Sr. and one blank return. Vice President Schumacher will retain his seat as a Director.

Director Position Two

There were 87 votes for Glenn Lavrenz, 3 votes for Robert Ristow, 2 for Kevin Pickar, 1 for Robert Doench, and one for Steve Pahl, Sr. There were also 14 blank returns. Director Lavrenz will retain his seat as a Director.

Director Position Three

There were 91 votes for Keith Thomsen, 1 vote for Marshall (Pete) Deets, 1 vote for Kevin Pickar, 1 vote for Roland (Skip) Lichter, 1 vote for Richard Dipping, 1 vote for Donald Pingel, and 13 blank returns. Director Thomsen will retain his seat as a Director.

Secretary's report:

We currently have 522 members across all membership types, this is broken down as follows: 241 Associate Members, 163 Life Members, 102 Regular Members; 12 Honorary Members, and 4 Non-Member Board Members.

Buildings and Grounds report as presented.

Governance Committee:

Meeting with Superintendents to be held on Saturday the 24th Of January.

Auction committee as presented.

Restoration department report as presented.

Dining services report as presented.

New Business:

1:09 PM: S. Brist moves and J. Huttenburg seconds to begin the preliminary engineering survey for the west yard expansion. Motion passed unanimously.

1:14 PM: D. Schumacher moves and J. Huttenburg seconds to approve the consulting services agreement with Don Meyer titled MCRY-015.

1:32 PM: S. Brist moves and C. O'Brien seconds to amend the motion to extend the contract only until March 28, 2015, and to authorize J. Huttenburg and J. Bloohm to negotiate a new contract with Don Meyer. Motion passed unanimously.

The now amended motion of 1:14 PM passed with J. Sorrel voting against.

1:40 PM: S. Brist moves and R. Duresa seconds to give a \$100 end of year bonus to employee Nancy Miller. Motion passed unanimously.

1:48 PM: J. Huttenburg moves and R. Duresa seconds to approve the budget for 2015 as presented. Motion passed unanimously.

1:51 PM: J. Huttenburg moves and R. Duresa seconds to approve the Employment Agreement with Jeff Lentz titled MCRY-JL-006. Motion passed unanimously.

1:56 PM: S. Brist moves and J. Sorrel seconds to designate the MCRR Foundation investment earnings of \$6637.25 to the CNW1385 project. Motion fails 5 to 3.

2:04 PM: R. Duresa moves and D. Schumacher seconds to designate the MCRR Foundation investment earnings of \$6637.25 to the Coach Shed roof repair. Motion passed unanimously.

2:04 PM: S. Brist moves and A. Doering seconds to approve the presidents committees consisting of:

Private Equipment Oversight Committee:

James Busse (ch), Kelly Bauman, Edward Ripp, James Johnson, and Jeffrey Bloohm

Collections Committee:

William Buhrmaster (ch), Stu Mathias, Ken Hojnacki, Rick Thiele, Richard Dipping

Management Committee:

Jeffrey Bloohm (ch), Bobbie Wagner, Bob Anderson

Election Committee:

Kelly Bauman (ch), Pete Deets, Colin O'Brien

Motion passed unanimously.

2:08 PM: J. Huttenburg moves and R. Duresa seconds to approve the Manager's appointments of Superintendents, General Foreman and other Department Heads. Motion passed unanimously.

2:09 PM: D. Schumacher moves and R. Duresa seconds to appoint Jeffrey Bloohm as manager. Motion passed unanimously.

It is to be noted that S. Brist will follow up with President Bloohm on ensuring the O'Winston link picture sale is followed through on per the donor's wishes.

2:10 PM: R. Duresa moves and D. Schumacher seconds to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

Kelly R. Bauman Secretary Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.