Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.

Minutes of the December 10, 2016 Annual Board of Directors Meeting

Date: December 10, 2016

Location: MCRHS Office Building

Roll Call:

Directors:

- R. Anderson, Treasurer
- K. Bauman, Secretary (As of 12:15PM)
- A. Doering
- R. Duresa -- By Phone
- J. Huttenburg
- G. Lavrenz -- Absent
- C. O'Brien
- D. Schumacher, Vice President
- K. Thomsen
- R. Wagner -- Absent

Other Officers:

J. Bloohm, President

Other Guests

Nancy Kaney

12:01 PM: Meeting is called to order by president Bloohm.

12:02 PM: J. Huttenburg moves and D. Schumacher seconds to change the date of the next regular meeting of the board to April 29, 2017. Motion passed unanimously.

The next Regular Meeting is to be held at 12 Noon on April 29, 2016 in the Museum Office building.

Appointment of Director:

- R. Anderson nominates and D. Schumacher seconds to appoint Kelly Bauman as Director
- C. O'Brien nominates and K. Thomsen seconds to appoint to Ken Hojnacki as Director.

12:15 PM: Results of secret ballot

- K. Bauman 5 votes
- K. Hojnacki 2 votes
- K. Bauman is appointed to a three-year term expiring in 2019.
- **12:16 PM:** R. Anderson moves and D. Schumacher seconds to thank John Sorrel and Ken Burbach for their service as Directors of MCRHS. Motion passed unanimously.
- **12:16 PM:** A. Doering moves and K. Thomsen seconds to approve the agenda and allow the president to go out of order as needed to efficiently conduct the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.
- **12:17 PM:** J. Huttenburg moves and C. O'Brien seconds to accept the minutes of the September 24, 2016 Regular Board Meeting as amended. Motion passed unanimously.

Elections:

- K. Bauman moves and J. Huttenburg seconds to nominate and elect D. Schumacher as Vice President of MCRHS. Motion passed with 6 votes in favor with D. Schumacher and K. Thomsen abstaining.
- R. Duresa moves and J. Huttenburg seconds to nominate and elect K. Bauman as Secretary of MCRHS. Motion passed with 6 votes in favor with K. Bauman and K. Thomsen abstaining
- R. Duresa moves and K. Bauman seconds to nominate and elect R. Anderson as Treasurer of MCRHS. Motion passed with 6 votes in favor with R. Anderson and K. Thomsen abstaining.

President Bloohm turns the chair of the meeting over to vice president Schumacher.

R. Duresa moves and A. Doering seconds to nominate and elect J. Bloohm as President of MCRHS. Motion passed with 7 votes in favor and K. Thomsen abstaining.

Vice President Schumacher returns the chair of the meeting to President Bloohm.

12:29 PM: J. Huttenburg moves and R. Duresa seconds to set the corporation's registered office as E8948 Museum Road, North Freedom, WI, the registered agent as Jeffrey B. Bloohm, and the official depository as Community First Bank, Baraboo, WI. Motion passed unanimously.

Reports:

President's report was presented

Financial report was presented

Election's Committee report was given by K. Bauman

136 returned envelopes (89 Needed)

3 disqualified for failure to follow instructions

- B. Anderson 119 Votes
- J. Huttenburg 95 Votes
- J. Sorrel 33 Votes
- K. Hojnacki 8 Votes
- R. Ristow 2 Votes
- K. Ristow 2 Votes
- R. Lichter 2 Votes
- K. Bauman 2 Votes
- S. Pahl Sr. 1 Vote
- D. Gruber 1 Vote
- R. Peters 1 Vote

Secretary's Membership Report was given by K. Bauman

512 Total Members

234 Associate Members

1 Corporate Member

3 Board Members (Non-Member)

11 Honorary Members161 Life Members102 Regular Members

Collections Committee Report was presented

Dorcy Coach Shed #2 Committee Meeting Report was presented

Fund Raising Committee Report was given by J. Huttenburg

Management Committee Report was given by J. Bloohm

Baraboo River Bridge Report was presented

Don Meyer Development Report was presented

Unfinished Business:

Planning meeting will be January 28, 2017 at 11:00AM to be held at the Huttenburg residence.

New Business:

- **1:10 PM:** A. Doering moves and R. Duresa seconds to approve Don Meyer's contract MCRY-017. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:11 PM:** D. Schumacher moves and R. Anderson seconds to approve the 2017 budget as presented. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:14 PM:** K. Thomsen moves and C. O'Brien seconds to designate the MCRR foundation investment earnings of \$3759.72 to the General Fund. Motion passed unanimously.
- **1:21 PM:** A. Doering moves and J. Huttenburg seconds to move the security accounts currently located at Buttonwood Partners to Stifle, and further to adopt the resolutions needed for the establishment and maintenance of said accounts. Motion passed with R. Anderson abstaining.
- **2:05 PM:** A. Doering moves and R. Duresa seconds to park and not operate the privately owned locomotive Saginaw Timber #2. Motion passes with 5 votes in favor and 3 votes against.
- **2:18 PM:** R. Duresa moves and D. Schumacher seconds to have the Management Committee move the Dorcy bequest funds into a higher earning investment account. Motion passed unanimously.
- **2:22 PM:** J. Huttenburg moves and C. O'Brien seconds not to sell the CIPS #6 0-4-0 tank locomotive as per the recommendation of the collection committee. Motion passed unanimously.
- **2:31 PM:** C. O'Brien moves and K. Thomsen seconds to accept the LS&I #22 proposal from W. Buhrmaster pending tax clarification from our accounting firm. Motion passed unanimously.
- 2:32 PM: A. Doering left the Meeting.
- **2:34 PM:** R. Anderson moves and D. Schumacher seconds to approve the committee and superintendent appointments of:

President's committee appointments:

Private Equipment Oversight Committee:

James Busse (ch), Kelly Bauman, Edward Ripp, Roberta Wagner, Jeffrey Bloohm.

Collections Committee:

William Buhrmaster (ch), Stu Mathias, Tom Blewett, Rick Thiele, Richard Dipping.

Election Committee:

Kelly Bauman (ch), Pete Deets, Colin O'Brien.

Management Committee:

Jeffrey Bloohm (ch), Roberta Wagner, Robert Anderson.

Dorcy project Committee:

Jeffrey Bloohm (ch), Bill Buhrmaster, Jeffrey Huttenburg, Robert Anderson, Al Doering.

Fund Raising Committee:

Colin O'Brien (ch), Roberta Wagner (vch), Jeffrey Huttenburg, Bill Buhrmaster, Robert Anderson.

Steam Readiness Committee:

Jeffrey Bloohm (ch), Kelly Bauman, Richard Colby, John Sorrel, Ed Ripp.

S. T. #2 Negotiating Committee:

Jeffrey Huttenburg (ch), Colin O'Brien, Al Doering, Rick Duresa, David Schumacher.

Superintendent, General Foreman, and Department Head appointments:

Collections Manager - Rick Thiele.

Restorations Manager - William Buhrmaster.

Museum Store Administrator - Jeffrey Haertlein.

Gen. Foreman of Diesel's - Jeffrey Bloohm.

Gen. Foreman of Rolling Stock - Richard Colby.

Supt. of B & G - vacant,

Roadmaster - David Bierman.

Supt. of Operations - Kelly Bauman.

Director of Visitors Services - Nancy Kaney.

Member Services - Office Staff.

Supt. of Dining Services - Chris Laabs.

Gazette & Steamer Editor - Jeffrey Lentz.

Webmaster - Patrick Weeden.

The motion of 2:34 PM passed unanimously.

2:35 PM: R. Duresa moves and K. Bauman seconds to adjourn the meeting. Motion passed unanimously.

Kelly R. Bauman

Secretary

Mid-Continent Railway Historical Society, Inc.